Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Today I thought it would only be fitting to have two photos in my post, because the two items are so closely related.  Both images were taken from the Titus County Courthouse in the square of Mount Pleasant.

Once voted the “ugliest courthouse in Texas” after a remodel that was not so widely favored in 1962, when the exterior was covered in aluminum, this courthouse follows an Art Deco/Mid Century Modern style of architecture that seems to be rather different than a lot of other courthouses in Texas, and has certainly earned a name for itself.  The courthouse building was originally built in 1895, the same year my great-grandfather Shankle was born, and the current re-model is from 1990.

IMG_8724web

Honestly, I do not find the current design to be all that hideous.  Perhaps its because I’ve been used to it all of my life, or maybe it’s because I just do not appreciate good architecture, but I can appreciate its uniqueness.

IMG_8729bwweb

Both of the above images are abstracts in a way, so you don’t get an entire feel of the courthouse, but these are the two I most liked.

To read a brief history about the Titus County Courthouse, check out this well written article on Texas Escapes.

