Yesterday evening I had a chance to walk down to a little part of our neighborhood and do a little shooting for myself.  It was so nice to have the energy and time to be able to use my camera for what I wanted to shoot for a change.

The Texas Bluebonnets have come out again as a sign of a new spring!  They are not quite as common this year as they were before, but I think we have a good bit of them considering the drought we had last year.

Typically, I have seen a lot of bluebonnet images in a field style.  I wanted to do something a little different and was hoping to get images that were unique, so I tried a variety of angles.  I also used my 100mm 2.8 macro lens, which I am loving for food and nature type stuff.  It is so cool to be able to get such detailed shots!

Here are some of my favorites:

bluebonnets8

I know not all of the shots will be unique, and I am sure someone, somewhere has done something similar, but this is just what I thought would be good at the time.

bluebonnets7

bluebonnets5

bluebonnets6

Now here is a shot of bluebonnets I’m fairly certain I have never seen before. I cannot decide if I like it or not…

bluebonnets4

bluebonnets3

bluebonnets2

bluebonnets1

This shot was taken in a small grass bed over by our community pool.  They planted bluebonnet seeds two years ago and a nice little patch has come out this year.  Last year I don’t think we had any blooms at all.

